^{118TH CONGRESS} ^{1ST SESSION} S. RES.

Congratulating the Florida State University Seminoles for winning the 2023 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Women's Soccer Championship.

IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES

Mr. SCOTT of Florida submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on _____

RESOLUTION

- Congratulating the Florida State University Seminoles for winning the 2023 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Women's Soccer Championship.
- Whereas, on December 4, 2023, the Florida State University Seminoles women's soccer team won the 2023 National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I Women's Soccer Championship;
- Whereas the Seminoles were the 2023 Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) regular season champions with a conference record of 9 wins, 0 loses, and 1 tie;
- Whereas the Seminoles won the 2023 ACC Women's Soccer Tournament Championship by defeating Clemson University on November 5, 2023;

- Whereas this marks the fourth NCAA Division I Women's Soccer Championship the Seminoles have won;
- Whereas the Seminoles defeated the Stanford University women's soccer team by a score of 5 goals to 1 in the NCAA Division I Women's Soccer College Cup;
- Whereas the Seminoles finished the regular season undefeated for the second time in school history with a record of 22 wins, 0 losses, and 1 tie;
- Whereas the Seminoles are 1 of only 4 teams to finish a season undefeated in NCAA history;
- Whereas this marks the 18th national title for the Florida State University Seminoles Athletics program;
- Whereas women's soccer is the ninth sport in which Florida State University has won a national title;
- Whereas the Seminoles had 6 ACC All-Conference selections and 5 NCAA Division I Women's All-Americans on the first, second, and third teams;

Whereas Seminoles senior midfielder Onyi Echegini-

- (1) earned 2023 ACC Offensive Player of the Year;
- (2) was selected to the ACC All-Conference First Team;

(3) was named the 2023 Ally ACC Women's Soccer Championship Tournament Most Valuable Player;

(4) was selected to the 2023 United Soccer Coaches NCAA Division I Women's All-America First Team; and

(5) was 1 of 3 finalists for the 2023 Missouri Athletic Club Hermann Trophy, awarded to the NCAA Division I National Player of the Year;

Whereas Seminoles freshman forward Jordynn Dudley—

(1) earned 2023 ACC Freshman Player of the Year;

(2) was selected to the ACC All-Conference First Team;

(3) was selected to the 2023 United Soccer Coaches NCAA Division I Women's All-America First Team; and

(4) earned the 2023 Women's College Cup Most Outstanding Offensive Player Award;

Whereas Seminoles Head Coach Brian Pensky—

(1) won his first Division I Women's Soccer Championship in only his second season as the head coach of the Seminoles;

(2) is the second coach in school history to win a NCAA Division I Women's Soccer Championship; and

(3) was named ACC Coach of the Year; and

Whereas the following players, coaches, and support staff contributed to the NCAA Division I Women's Soccer Championship victory:

(1) Assistant Coaches Bobby Shuttleworth, Aaron Brunner, Olivia Garcia, and Andrew Hudson.

(2) Director of Operations Sarah Buckley.

(3) Athletic trainer Alora Sullivan.

(4) Student-athletes Cristina Roque, Taylor Huff, Maggie Taitano, Onyi Echegini, Ran Iwai, Lauren Flynn, Beata Olsson, Jody Brown, Jordynn Dudley, Leilanni Nesbeth, Peyton Nourse, Kaitlyn Zipay, Sophia Nguyen, Mimi Van Zanten, Maria Alagoa, Heather Gilchrist, Olivia Lebdaoui, Claire Rain, Adelyn Todd, and Leah Pais: Now, therefore, be it

¹ *Resolved*, That the Senate—

^{2 (1)} congratulates the Florida State University
3 women's soccer team and the students, alumni, fac4 ulty, staff, and trustees of Florida State University,

4

1	on winning the 2023 National Collegiate Athletic
2	Association Division I Women's Soccer Champion-
3	ship and on completing the season undefeated; and
4	(2) respectfully directs the Secretary of the
5	Senate to transmit an enrolled copy of this resolu-
6	tion to—
7	(A) the President of Florida State Univer-
8	sity, Richard McCullough;
9	(B) the Athletic Director of Florida State
10	University, Michael Alford; and
11	(C) the Head Coach of the Florida State
12	University women's soccer team, Brian Pensky.