Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515 October 11, 2024

President Joe Biden The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Washington, D.C. 20500

Dear President Biden,

We write in support of Florida Governor Ron DeSantis' request for an Expedited Major Disaster Declaration for the state of Florida as a result of Hurricane Milton, which made landfall near Siesta Key on October 9th as a powerful Category 3 hurricane.

As you are undoubtedly aware, Florida has experienced three hurricanes in as many months – two of which have been major hurricanes – causing significant damage across much of the state. In fact, Hurricane Milton made landfall on parts of Florida's coastline that had already suffered from unprecedented storm surge from Hurricane Helene and claimed the lives of 25 Floridians just two weeks ago. Furthermore, dozens of tornadoes were reported on the east and west coasts of the state from the outer bands of Hurricane Milton, destroying an estimated 150 homes and leading to numerous fatalities.

Given the severity of the storm, as evidenced by the at least 16 reported deaths and still untold damages wrought by Hurricane Milton on peoples' homes, businesses and livelihoods, we urge your immediate consideration of a Major Disaster Declaration, which would provide essential federal resources to help our state respond and recover to the catastrophic damages caused by this devastating storm. The full support of the federal government is critical in helping save lives and getting our communities and constituents back on their feet.

We thank you for your consideration of Governor DeSantis' request and look forward to your expeditious response to this critically important issue.

Sincerely,

Vern Buchanan Member of Congress

Marco Rubio United States Senator

Castor

Kathy Castor Member of Congress

Rick Scott United States Senator

Laurel M. Lee Member of Congress

Aaron Bean Member of Congress

W. Gregory Steube Member of Congress

Anna Paulina Luna Member of Congress

anen

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Matt Gaetz // Member of Congress

Jared Moskowitz Member of Congress

C. Acott Franklin

C. Scott Franklin Member of Congress

Kat Cammack Member of Congress

Carlos Gimenez Member of Congress

Neal P. Dunn M.D. Member of Congress

2

Brian Mast Member of Congress

Jula

María Elvira Salazar Member of Congress

Michael Waltz

Member of Congress

Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick Member of Congress

Diliti

Gus M. Bilirakis Member of Congress

Byron Donalds Member of Congress

Lois Frankel

Lois Frankel Member of Congress

Maxwell Alejander Frost

Maxwell Alejandro Frost Member of Congress

Jilson

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress

Daniel Webster Member of Congress

Debis U Debbie Wasserman Schultz Member of Congress

Mario Díaz-Balart Member of Congress



Bill Posey Member of Congress

æ

Cory Mills Member of Congress

John H. Rutherford Member of Congress