Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

October 18, 2022

The Honorable Gina Raimondo Secretary U.S. Department of Commerce 1401 Constitution Avenue NW Washington, D.C. 20230

Dear Secretary Raimondo:

We write to express our support for the State of Florida's request for the declaration of a federal fishery resource disaster in response to the severe impacts of Hurricane Ian. We respectfully urge you to expeditiously consider the State of Florida's request, and approve the disbursal of disaster assistance to fishing and seafood businesses that have been disrupted and/or destroyed by the storm.

On October 15, 2022, the State of Florida submitted a request to the U.S. Department of Commerce to declare a federal fishery resource disaster pursuant to the Magnuson-Stevens Fishery Conservation Act and the Interjurisdictional Fisheries Act, including clauses to initiate support from the Economic Development Administration, to support fishery businesses in response to Hurricane Ian. As noted in the initial request, Florida's recreational fishing industry has an annual \$9.2 billion economic impact, and commercial fisheries produce seafood totaling \$244 million in dockside value.

Florida's iconic fisheries are foundational to the economy and way of life in many of the communities that have been devastated by Hurricane Ian. A timely and robust response by the Department of Commerce through the declaration of a fishery disaster in support of Florida's fishing industries is required to help these communities recover. We urge you to approve the declaration without delay.

Thank you for your attention to this important matter.

Sincerely,

M. N

Marco Rubio U.S. Senator

Rick Scott U.S. Senator

Kat Cammack Member of Congress

Mario Díaz-Balart Member of Congress

ulala

María Elvira Salazar Member of Congress

Matt Gaetz Member of Congress

Stephanie Murphy Member of Congress

Jum / Diliti

Gus M. Bilirakis Member of Congress

Val B. Demings

Val Demings Member of Congress

Debie Wassum

Debbie Wasserman Schultz Member of Congress

0

Byron Donalds Member of Congress

John H. Rutherford Member of Congress

Michael Waltz Member of Congress

Bill Posey

Member of Congress

Vern Buchanan Member of Congress

Brian Mast Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Vaniel Welster

Daniel Webster Member of Congress

C. Scott Franklin

Scott Franklin Member of Congress

//

Carlos A. Giménez Member of Congress

W.Cregory Steube Member of Congress

Maal 6 5

Neal P. Dunn, M.D. Member of Congress

Kathy Castor

Kathy Castor Member of Congress

Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick Member of Congress