Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

January 11, 2022

The Honorable Jon Tester Chairman U.S. Senate Committee on Veterans' Affairs 412 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Mark Takano Chairman U.S. House Committee on Veterans' Affairs 364 Cannon House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Jerry Moran Ranking Member U.S. Senate Committee on Veterans' Affairs 825-A Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Mike Bost Ranking Member U.S. House Committee on Veterans Affairs 3460 O'Neill House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20024

Dear Chairmen Tester and Takano, Ranking Members Moran and Bost:

As Members of the Florida Delegation, we write in support of S. 2159 and H.R. 1960, legislation that would name the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) clinic in Clay County, Florida after U.S. Navy Chief Petty Officer Andrew Kenneth Baker. Chief Baker served his country honorably for 17 years before tragically perishing while aboard Trident 615, an HH-60H "Sea Hawk" helicopter that crashed at sea on March 13, 1997.

Chief Baker served on the USS *Carl Vinson* and USS *Coral Sea* as a Ship's Serviceman. He is a graduate of Search and Rescue Swimmer School in Pensacola and Fleet Replacement Aircrewman training at Naval Air Station Jacksonville, where he earned his "Wings of Gold." Chief Baker then reported to HS-9, where he served on the USS *Nimitz*; and then at HS-3, where he was assigned as the Training and Operations Chief. His dedication to our nation reflects great honor on his family and our community. It is fitting that a VA clinic, an institution dedicated to supporting those who served, should be named after a faithful service member.

We respectfully request the Senate and House Committees on Veterans' Affairs quickly consider this important legislation. Please see the attached letters of support from the Florida Chapters of Several Veteran Service Organizations.

M. M.

Marco Rubio U.S. Senator

Sincerely,

Kat Cammack Member of Congress

Rick Scott U.S. Senator

Stephanie Murphy Member of Congress

Matt

Matt Gaetz Member of Congress

Lois Frankel

Lois Frankel Member of Congress

Carlos Gimenez Member of Congress

Gus Bilirakis Member of Congress

Mario Diaz Balart Member of Congress

Bill Posey Member of Congress

Brian Mast Member of Congress

W. Gregory Steube Member of Congress

John H. Rutherford Member of Congress

Mike Waltz Member of Congress

Val B. Demin.

Val Demings Member of Congress

Mal P (

Neal P. Dunn, M.D. Member of Congress

C. Scott Franklin

C. Scott Franklin Member of Congress

Alufala

María Elvira Salazar Member of Congress

Charlie Crist Member of Congress

alð au

Al Lawson Member of Congress

Vaniel Welster

Daniel Webster Member of Congress

Ted Deutch Member of Congress

Inderica S. Wilson

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress

Debis Wassers

Debbie Wasserman Schultz Member of Congress

Byron Donalds Member of Congress

Kathy Castor

Kathy Castor Member of Congress

Vern Buchanan Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress